Metrolink in the OC

Work has been a bit stressful to return to after several days of travel and fun with friends. I didn’t take any extra days off like I should have and I ended up having to take several half days and entire week off to properly recover and figure out what’s going on in my brain. Obviously, shows and traveling are a lot of fun, but work is a requirement to sustain such habits. The nice thing about my current job is the flexibility of having a day off and sometimes working offsite. The down side is that sometimes riding a train to work means you are stuck waiting for it when it breaks down, hits someone, or there’s congestion.

Metrolink is normally pretty reliable and they do the best with the resources available. They people are generally nice even than Amtrak and I have no complaints specifically about them. My main concern is partly the hours being so limited to commuting. There’s no way to just go up late at night and come back like on Metro Rail, so you’re stuck either driving and parking or taking it up and waiting for a ride back – which is kind of a pain in the neck. Maybe OC people don’t want to work in LA if it requires driving there, but also if they already plan to work late, it doesn’t help to not have a car.

Orange County is a place that you can’t really go many places without a car, and buses are even less frequent here than in LA. It is nice that you usually feel safer in most of LA, but you end up being too comfortable and just wasting time and money. I’m guilty of both of these things and I hate when I do, but for some people it’s a way of life. The parts of LA I’m usually are usually pretty safe, though odd things happen all the time and you never know when some weird dangers are afoot. I’d rather not stay home all the time, but on the other hand, feeling paranoid is bad too.

I’m not sure where I’m going with this post as I was going to talk about something else entirely, I just thought I’d air my feelings and see if Metrolink might consider extending their hours so driving wasn’t a requirement all the time. Why else do they need to continually increase fares? (Some of those weird incidents always seem to include a person being struck by the train or copycat incidents soon after).

Leave a Reply

